ETL CompareETL Compare

Head to head · Figures checked September 2026

Apache Auron vs Flarion

ETL Compare staff · Figures checked September 2026 · Sourced from vendor docs, project pages and public benchmarks · Published 29 September 2026

In brief

Apache Auron has the higher ETL fit score on our published weights (3.5 against 3.1 out of 5). Apache Auron scores higher on stage coverage, cost model transparency, published evidence and maturity and community; Flarion scores higher on adoption effort, tuning and operating burden and platform and instance portability. The score measures fit for speeding up existing Spark ETL without rewrites, not raw speed, so test both on one of your own pipelines before you decide.

On our weights Apache Auron ranks 5th of 7 and Flarion ranks 7th of 7. Which one fits depends on the criteria below and on the platform you run.

Apache Auron (formerly Blaze) is an incubating open-source engine that maps Spark physical plans onto DataFusion native execution, with its own shuffle format. Flarion is a commercial DataFusion-based, Arrow-native execution engine for Spark, Hadoop and Ray. Neither requires changes to Spark SQL or DataFrame code, according to its own documentation.

Apache Auron

3.5 / 5

ETL fit score (editorial assessment, 0-5)

ETL fit score (editorial assessment, 0-5)

Rank 5 of 7

Open-source option with its own shuffle and memory layer

Flarion

3.1 / 5

ETL fit score (editorial assessment, 0-5)

ETL fit score (editorial assessment, 0-5)

Rank 7 of 7

Commercial plugin with a broad managed-platform list

How do Apache Auron and Flarion score on each criterion?

Apache Auron and Flarion by criterion. Scores are editorial, 0-5.
CriterionAuronFlarionHigher score
Adoption effort 20%3.44.2Flarion
Stage coverage 20%3.82.8Auron
Tuning and operating burden 15%2.63.8Flarion
Platform and instance portability 10%3.84.2Flarion
Cost model transparency 10%5.02.0Auron
Published evidence 15%3.41.8Auron
Maturity and community 10%3.22.0Auron
ETL fit score3.53.1Auron
Why each score
Adoption effort
Auron (3.4): No code changes, but you enable it through Spark settings and a custom shuffle manager and install it yourself.
Flarion (4.2): Flarion states "zero code and infrastructure changes" and a 6-minute setup by adding configuration parameters.
Stage coverage
Auron (3.8): Native vectorized execution on DataFusion, compacted shuffle formats and multi-level memory management are all documented.
Flarion (2.8): Describes a DataFusion-based, Arrow-native execution engine plus caching; shuffle, spill and write behavior are not described on the pages we reviewed.
Tuning and operating burden
Auron (2.6): Self-managed with community support through the Apache mailing list.
Flarion (3.8): A commercial product with performance monitoring and anomaly detection described; support terms are not published.
Platform and instance portability
Auron (3.8): Runs on standard CPU instances and supports JDK 8, 11, 17 and 21; the project says it is adapted to Spark mainline versions without listing them on the page we reviewed.
Flarion (4.2): Lists Databricks, AWS EMR, GCP Dataproc, Azure HDInsight and on-premises, on standard instances.
Cost model transparency
Auron (5.0): Apache License 2.0, no license fee.
Flarion (2.0): Listed on AWS Marketplace; no price on the homepage.
Published evidence
Auron (3.4): The project states about 2x faster than Spark 3.5 on TPC-DS with about 50% cluster resources saved; project-published.
Flarion (1.8): Headline figures (3x performance, 60% cost reduction) without a published methodology on the pages we reviewed.
Maturity and community
Auron (3.2): Still incubating at the Apache Software Foundation (latest listed release v8.0.0-incubating), with a history under the Blaze name.
Flarion (2.0): Company details such as founding date and funding are not published on the pages we reviewed.

What do Apache Auron and Flarion cost, as published?

 AuronFlarion
LicenseApache License 2.0Commercial
Published priceNo license feeNot on homepage; listed on AWS Marketplace
InstancesStandard CPU instancesStandard instances
Runs onSelf-managed Spark on JDK 8, 11, 17 or 21Databricks, AWS EMR, GCP Dataproc, Azure HDInsight, on-premises
Code changesNone; Spark settings and custom shuffle managerNone stated; configuration parameters

Prices and terms as published on the pages we reviewed, 27 September 2026. Neither vendor's figure is a quote.

Sources: auron.apache.org, apache/auron on GitHub, kwai/blaze on GitHub, flarion.io · Fetched 27 Sep 2026

Where are they documented to run?

 EMRDatabricksGoogle Cloud (Dataproc)AWS GlueSelf-managed Spark / Kubernetes
AuronNot documentedself-installNot documentedNot documentedself-installNot documentedDocumented
FlarionDocumentedDocumentedDocumentedNot documentedDocumentedon-premises

Documented means the vendor or project lists the platform on the pages we reviewed. Self-install means you can usually add an open-source plugin to a platform that lets you set Spark configuration and classpath, but the project does not publish a guide for that platform. None of the vendor pages we reviewed list AWS Glue.

Which job stages does each address?

Spark ETL job stages and which stages each accelerator documents addressingA waterfall of five Spark ETL job stages (read, transform, shuffle, spill, write) with illustrative proportions, and below it a grid showing, for each accelerator, whether its own documentation says it addresses that stage.Anatomy of a Spark ETL jobRead: scan and decode filesTransform: filter, join, aggregateShuffle: write and fetch between stagesSpill: memory pressure pushes data to diskWrite: encode and commit outputIllustrative proportions, not measured data. Your own split comes from the Spark UI: see Profile a slow Spark job.
Stage coverage by accelerator, from vendor documentation
AcceleratorReadTransformShuffleSpillWrite
AuronPartialPartialDocumentedDocumentedDocumentedDocumentedPartialPartialNot statedNot stated
FlarionPartialPartialDocumentedDocumentedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot stated
  • DocumentedDocumented: the vendor's own documentation says it addresses this stage
  • PartialPartial: indirect or experimental, or covered only by an end-to-end claim
  • Not statedNot stated: not found on the pages we reviewed

This shows what each vendor says, not what we measured. Sources are listed on each review.

Choose Apache Auron if

  • You want no license fee: Auron is released under the Apache License 2.0
  • You want an open-source engine with its own compacted shuffle format and multi-level memory management
  • You run on self-managed Spark or Kubernetes

Choose Flarion if

  • You want a commercial plugin that Flarion states needs zero code and infrastructure changes
  • You need one commercial product across Databricks, Amazon EMR, Google Cloud Dataproc, Azure HDInsight and on-premises
  • You run on Amazon EMR, Databricks, Google Cloud (Dataproc) and self-managed Spark or Kubernetes

Frequently asked questions

Which has the higher ETL fit score, Apache Auron or Flarion?

Apache Auron, with 3.5 against 3.1 out of 5 on our published weights. Apache Auron scores higher on stage coverage, cost model transparency, published evidence and maturity and community and Flarion on adoption effort, tuning and operating burden and platform and instance portability. The score measures fit for speeding up existing Spark ETL, not raw speed.

Do Apache Auron and Flarion run on the same platforms?

Both are documented for self-managed Spark or Kubernetes. Flarion is also documented for Amazon EMR, Databricks and Google Cloud (Dataproc). Open-source plugins without a guide for a platform can often be self-installed where you control Spark configuration.

What do Apache Auron and Flarion cost?

Apache Auron: No license fee (Apache License 2.0). Flarion: Not on homepage; listed on AWS Marketplace (Commercial). For a like-for-like comparison, work out cost per run on one of your own jobs: see Spark cost per job, explained.

Related