ETL CompareETL Compare

Head to head · Figures checked September 2026

DataFusion Comet vs Flarion

ETL Compare staff · Figures checked September 2026 · Sourced from vendor docs, project pages and public benchmarks · Published 29 September 2026

In brief

DataFusion Comet has the higher ETL fit score on our published weights (3.8 against 3.1 out of 5). DataFusion Comet scores higher on stage coverage, cost model transparency, published evidence and maturity and community; Flarion scores higher on adoption effort and tuning and operating burden. They tie on platform and instance portability. The score measures fit for speeding up existing Spark ETL without rewrites, not raw speed, so test both on one of your own pipelines before you decide.

On our weights DataFusion Comet ranks 2nd of 7 and Flarion ranks 7th of 7. Which one fits depends on the criteria below and on the platform you run.

Apache DataFusion Comet is an open-source Spark plugin that runs supported operators on the Apache DataFusion engine (Rust, Arrow). Flarion is a commercial DataFusion-based, Arrow-native execution engine for Spark, Hadoop and Ray. Neither requires changes to Spark SQL or DataFrame code, according to its own documentation.

DataFusion Comet

3.8 / 5

ETL fit score (editorial assessment, 0-5)

ETL fit score (editorial assessment, 0-5)

Rank 2 of 7

Best for teams on recent Spark 4.x releases

Flarion

3.1 / 5

ETL fit score (editorial assessment, 0-5)

ETL fit score (editorial assessment, 0-5)

Rank 7 of 7

Commercial plugin with a broad managed-platform list

How do DataFusion Comet and Flarion score on each criterion?

DataFusion Comet and Flarion by criterion. Scores are editorial, 0-5.
CriterionCometFlarionHigher score
Adoption effort 20%3.84.2Flarion
Stage coverage 20%3.62.8Comet
Tuning and operating burden 15%2.83.8Flarion
Platform and instance portability 10%4.24.2Tie
Cost model transparency 10%5.02.0Comet
Published evidence 15%3.81.8Comet
Maturity and community 10%3.92.0Comet
ETL fit score3.83.1Comet
Why each score
Adoption effort
Comet (3.8): No code changes; add the Comet jar from Maven Central, enable the extension and configure off-heap memory and the Comet shuffle manager.
Flarion (4.2): Flarion states "zero code and infrastructure changes" and a 6-minute setup by adding configuration parameters.
Stage coverage
Comet (3.6): Native Parquet scans (including for Iceberg), native operators and native or columnar shuffle; native operators can spill, bounded per task; write path not described on the pages we reviewed.
Flarion (2.8): Describes a DataFusion-based, Arrow-native execution engine plus caching; shuffle, spill and write behavior are not described on the pages we reviewed.
Tuning and operating burden
Comet (2.8): The tuning guide says memory accounting "isn't 100% accurate" and describes pool fractions, batch size and spill limits to set; community support.
Flarion (3.8): A commercial product with performance monitoring and anomaly detection described; support terms are not published.
Platform and instance portability
Comet (4.2): Supports Spark 3.5, 4.0 and 4.1 (3.4 deprecated) with prebuilt Linux amd64 and arm64 jars on commodity hardware; you install it yourself on any platform.
Flarion (4.2): Lists Databricks, AWS EMR, GCP Dataproc, Azure HDInsight and on-premises, on standard instances.
Cost model transparency
Comet (5.0): Apache License 2.0, no license fee.
Flarion (2.0): Listed on AWS Marketplace; no price on the homepage.
Published evidence
Comet (3.8): Publishes a TPC-DS at 1 TB benchmark with a per-query breakdown in its Benchmarking Guide.
Flarion (1.8): Headline figures (3x performance, 60% cost reduction) without a published methodology on the pages we reviewed.
Maturity and community
Comet (3.9): A subproject of Apache DataFusion that has reached a 1.x release line; younger than Gluten and RAPIDS.
Flarion (2.0): Company details such as founding date and funding are not published on the pages we reviewed.

What do DataFusion Comet and Flarion cost, as published?

 CometFlarion
LicenseApache License 2.0Commercial
Published priceNo license feeNot on homepage; listed on AWS Marketplace
InstancesCommodity CPU instances (amd64 or arm64)Standard instances
Runs onSelf-managed Spark 3.5, 4.0 and 4.1 (3.4 deprecated) on LinuxDatabricks, AWS EMR, GCP Dataproc, Azure HDInsight, on-premises
Code changesNone; jar plus Spark configurationNone stated; configuration parameters

Prices and terms as published on the pages we reviewed, 27 September 2026. Neither vendor's figure is a quote.

Sources: datafusion.apache.org/comet, Comet installation guide, Comet tuning guide, flarion.io · Fetched 27 Sep 2026

Where are they documented to run?

 EMRDatabricksGoogle Cloud (Dataproc)AWS GlueSelf-managed Spark / Kubernetes
CometNot documentedself-installNot documentedNot documentedself-installNot documentedDocumented
FlarionDocumentedDocumentedDocumentedNot documentedDocumentedon-premises

Documented means the vendor or project lists the platform on the pages we reviewed. Self-install means you can usually add an open-source plugin to a platform that lets you set Spark configuration and classpath, but the project does not publish a guide for that platform. None of the vendor pages we reviewed list AWS Glue.

Which job stages does each address?

Spark ETL job stages and which stages each accelerator documents addressingA waterfall of five Spark ETL job stages (read, transform, shuffle, spill, write) with illustrative proportions, and below it a grid showing, for each accelerator, whether its own documentation says it addresses that stage.Anatomy of a Spark ETL jobRead: scan and decode filesTransform: filter, join, aggregateShuffle: write and fetch between stagesSpill: memory pressure pushes data to diskWrite: encode and commit outputIllustrative proportions, not measured data. Your own split comes from the Spark UI: see Profile a slow Spark job.
Stage coverage by accelerator, from vendor documentation
AcceleratorReadTransformShuffleSpillWrite
CometDocumentedDocumentedDocumentedDocumentedDocumentedDocumentedPartialPartialNot statedNot stated
FlarionPartialPartialDocumentedDocumentedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot stated
  • DocumentedDocumented: the vendor's own documentation says it addresses this stage
  • PartialPartial: indirect or experimental, or covered only by an end-to-end claim
  • Not statedNot stated: not found on the pages we reviewed

This shows what each vendor says, not what we measured. Sources are listed on each review.

Choose DataFusion Comet if

  • You want no license fee: Comet is released under the Apache License 2.0
  • You run Spark 3.5, 4.0 or 4.1 yourself on commodity amd64 or arm64 instances
  • You run on self-managed Spark or Kubernetes

Choose Flarion if

  • You want a commercial plugin that Flarion states needs zero code and infrastructure changes
  • You need one commercial product across Databricks, Amazon EMR, Google Cloud Dataproc, Azure HDInsight and on-premises
  • You run on Amazon EMR, Databricks, Google Cloud (Dataproc) and self-managed Spark or Kubernetes

Frequently asked questions

Which has the higher ETL fit score, DataFusion Comet or Flarion?

DataFusion Comet, with 3.8 against 3.1 out of 5 on our published weights. DataFusion Comet scores higher on stage coverage, cost model transparency, published evidence and maturity and community and Flarion on adoption effort and tuning and operating burden. They tie on platform and instance portability. The score measures fit for speeding up existing Spark ETL, not raw speed.

Do DataFusion Comet and Flarion run on the same platforms?

Both are documented for self-managed Spark or Kubernetes. Flarion is also documented for Amazon EMR, Databricks and Google Cloud (Dataproc). Open-source plugins without a guide for a platform can often be self-installed where you control Spark configuration.

What do DataFusion Comet and Flarion cost?

DataFusion Comet: No license fee (Apache License 2.0). Flarion: Not on homepage; listed on AWS Marketplace (Commercial). For a like-for-like comparison, work out cost per run on one of your own jobs: see Spark cost per job, explained.

Related