Head to head · Figures checked September 2026
DataPelago vs DualBird
ETL Compare staff · Figures checked September 2026 · Sourced from vendor docs, project pages and public benchmarks · Published 29 September 2026
In brief
DualBird has the higher ETL fit score on our lead weights (3.72 against 3.14 out of 5). DataPelago scores higher on platform and instance portability, cost model transparency, published evidence and maturity and community; DualBird scores higher on adoption effort, stage coverage and tuning and operating burden. The score measures fit for speeding up existing Spark ETL without rewrites, not raw speed, so test both on one of your own pipelines before you decide.
On our lead weights DualBird ranks 2nd of 9 and DataPelago ranks 8th of 9. Which one fits depends on the criteria below and on the platform you run.
DataPelago Accelerator for Spark is a commercial Spark accelerator (DPA-S) built on the DataPelago Nucleus engine, using CPU, GPU or FPGA hardware. DualBird is a commercial Spark plugin paired with Amazon EC2 F2 instances, aimed at spill, skew and shuffle bottlenecks. Neither requires changes to Spark SQL or DataFrame code, according to its own documentation.
3.14 / 5
ETL fit score (editorial assessment, 0-5)ETL fit score (editorial assessment, 0-5)
Rank 8 of 9
Compute-heavy Spark SQL and DataFrame jobs on Parquet or ORC in Google Cloud or AWS
3.72 / 5
ETL fit score (editorial assessment, 0-5)ETL fit score (editorial assessment, 0-5)
Rank 2 of 9
Best for spill- and shuffle-heavy ETL on EMR and EKS
How do DataPelago and DualBird score on each criterion?
| Criterion | DataPelago | DualBird | Higher score |
|---|---|---|---|
| Adoption effort 20% | 3.8 | 4.6 | DualBird |
| Stage coverage 20% | 3.0 | 4.8 | DualBird |
| Tuning and operating burden 20% | 3.0 | 4.4 | DualBird |
| Platform and instance portability 10% | 3.2 | 2.4 | DataPelago |
| Cost model transparency 5% | 3.0 | 2.0 | DataPelago |
| Published evidence 15% | 3.0 | 2.8 | DataPelago |
| Maturity and community 10% | 2.6 | 2.0 | DataPelago |
| ETL fit score | 3.14 | 3.72 | DualBird |
Why each score
- Adoption effort
- DataPelago (3.8): DataPelago states existing Spark code runs unchanged with no data migration, configured through standard Spark settings and bought through the Google Cloud or AWS marketplace.
- DualBird (4.6): DualBird states two steps: change the EC2 instance type and add the DualBird Spark plugin, with no code changes and no platform move for EMR and EKS users.
- Stage coverage
- DataPelago (3.0): Its page names good fits (compute-intensive jobs, Parquet, ORC, SQL and DataFrame) and says to avoid heavy RDD and UDF use; shuffle, spill and write behavior are not described.
- DualBird (4.8): The only vendor in this set whose product page names all three ETL pain points directly: disk spills, data skew and shuffle data, plus an end-to-end claim.
- Tuning and operating burden
- DataPelago (3.0): A vendor-run accelerator configured with standard Spark settings; tuning guidance and support terms are not published on the pages we reviewed.
- DualBird (4.4): DualBird states "no more performance tuning and troubleshooting" and the product is vendor-supported; this is a vendor claim we could not check.
- Platform and instance portability
- DataPelago (3.2): Supports multiple Spark versions on Google Cloud and AWS and any hardware from CPU to GPU, by the vendor's statement; specific managed services such as Amazon EMR, Dataproc or Databricks are not named.
- DualBird (2.4): Documented for Apache Spark, Amazon EMR and Amazon EKS on AWS only, and it runs on Amazon EC2 F2 instances rather than the instance types most jobs use today.
- Cost model transparency
- DataPelago (3.0): Pay as you go through cloud marketplaces; the AWS Marketplace listing shows a vCPU-hour dimension and a $100,000 per month contract entry, but no per-job rate you can model without a quote.
- DualBird (2.0): No pricing on the pages we reviewed; buyers need a quote to compare the fee plus F2 instance cost against current spend.
- Published evidence
- DataPelago (3.0): Vendor claims of 10x faster at 80% cost reduction, customer quotes with figures (Akad Seguros, ShareChat) and a benchmark page against NVIDIA cuDF, all vendor-published.
- DualBird (2.8): Publishes an Iceberg compaction benchmark with dataset shape and cost per TB, written by DualBird staff; cluster sizes and Spark versions are not stated and no third-party results were found.
- Maturity and community
- DataPelago (2.6): The Accelerator for Spark launched on 5 August 2025, on the Nucleus engine unveiled in October 2024; offices in Mountain View and Hyderabad; no open-source community of its own.
- DualBird (2.0): A young commercial product (it raised $25M in February 2026) with a short public track record and no open-source community.
What do DataPelago and DualBird cost, as published?
| DataPelago | DualBird | |
|---|---|---|
| License | Commercial | Commercial |
| Published price | Pay as you go through the Google Cloud and AWS marketplaces; the AWS Marketplace listing shows a vCPU-hour dimension and a $100,000 per month one-month contract entry | Not published; contact DualBird |
| Instances | Any available hardware, CPU to GPU (vendor statement) | Amazon EC2 F2 instances |
| Runs on | Multiple Spark versions on Google Cloud and AWS; Amazon EMR, EKS and Databricks not named on the DPA-S page | Apache Spark, Amazon EMR and Amazon EKS, on AWS |
| Code changes | None stated; standard Spark settings | None stated; change instance type and add plugin |
Prices and terms as published on the pages we reviewed, 27 September 2026. Neither vendor's figure is a quote.
Sources: datapelago.ai, DPA-S page, DataPelago press page, DataPelago company page, AWS Marketplace listing, dualbird.io, DualBird product page, Iceberg compaction benchmark, A Simpler Spark · Fetched 27 Sep 2026
Where are they documented to run?
| EMR | Databricks | Google Cloud (Dataproc) | AWS Glue | Self-managed Spark / Kubernetes | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| DataPelago | Not documentedAWS stated; EMR not named | Not documented | Not documentedGoogle Cloud stated; service not named | Not documented | Not documented |
| DualBird | Documented | Not documented | Not documentedAWS only | Not documented | DocumentedApache Spark, Amazon EKS |
Documented means the vendor or project lists the platform on the pages we reviewed. Self-install means you can usually add an open-source plugin to a platform that lets you set Spark configuration and classpath, but the project does not publish a guide for that platform. None of the vendor pages we reviewed list AWS Glue.
Which job stages does each address?
| Accelerator | Read | Transform | Shuffle | Spill | Write |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| DualBird | Partial | Documented | Documented | Documented | Partial |
| DataPelago | Documented | Partial | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
- Documented: the vendor's own documentation says it addresses this stage
- Partial: indirect or experimental, or covered only by an end-to-end claim
- Not stated: not found on the pages we reviewed
This shows what each vendor says, not what we measured. Sources are listed on each review.
Choose DataPelago if
- Low adoption effort on your current platform matters most
- You need to run on several platforms or standard instances
Choose DualBird if
- Your slowest stages are disk spill and shuffle, which DualBird's product page targets directly
- You run on Amazon EMR or EKS and want to stay there: DualBird states setup is an instance-type change plus a Spark plugin
- You run on Amazon EMR and self-managed Spark or Kubernetes
Frequently asked questions
Which has the higher ETL fit score, DataPelago or DualBird?
DualBird, with 3.72 against 3.14 out of 5 on our lead weights. DataPelago scores higher on platform and instance portability, cost model transparency, published evidence and maturity and community and DualBird on adoption effort, stage coverage and tuning and operating burden. The score measures fit for speeding up existing Spark ETL, not raw speed.
Do DataPelago and DualBird run on the same platforms?
They share no documented platform on the pages we reviewed. DualBird is also documented for Amazon EMR and self-managed Spark or Kubernetes.
What do DataPelago and DualBird cost?
DataPelago: Pay as you go through the Google Cloud and AWS marketplaces; the AWS Marketplace listing shows a vCPU-hour dimension and a $100,000 per month one-month contract entry (Commercial). DualBird: Not published; contact DualBird (Commercial). For a like-for-like comparison, work out cost per run on one of your own jobs: see Spark cost per job, explained.