ETL CompareETL Compare

Head to head · Figures checked September 2026

DataPelago vs Flarion

ETL Compare staff · Figures checked September 2026 · Sourced from vendor docs, project pages and public benchmarks · Published 29 September 2026

In brief

Flarion has the higher ETL fit score on our lead weights (3.15 against 3.14 out of 5). DataPelago scores higher on stage coverage, cost model transparency, published evidence and maturity and community; Flarion scores higher on adoption effort, tuning and operating burden and platform and instance portability. The score measures fit for speeding up existing Spark ETL without rewrites, not raw speed, so test both on one of your own pipelines before you decide.

On our lead weights Flarion ranks 7th of 9 and DataPelago ranks 8th of 9. Which one fits depends on the criteria below and on the platform you run.

DataPelago Accelerator for Spark is a commercial Spark accelerator (DPA-S) built on the DataPelago Nucleus engine, using CPU, GPU or FPGA hardware. Flarion is a commercial DataFusion-based, Arrow-native execution engine for Spark, Hadoop and Ray. Neither requires changes to Spark SQL or DataFrame code, according to its own documentation.

DataPelago

3.14 / 5

ETL fit score (editorial assessment, 0-5)

ETL fit score (editorial assessment, 0-5)

Rank 8 of 9

Compute-heavy Spark SQL and DataFrame jobs on Parquet or ORC in Google Cloud or AWS

Flarion

3.15 / 5

ETL fit score (editorial assessment, 0-5)

ETL fit score (editorial assessment, 0-5)

Rank 7 of 9

Commercial plugin with a broad managed-platform list

How do DataPelago and Flarion score on each criterion?

DataPelago and Flarion by criterion. Scores are editorial, 0-5.
CriterionDataPelagoFlarionHigher score
Adoption effort 20%3.84.2Flarion
Stage coverage 20%3.02.8DataPelago
Tuning and operating burden 20%3.03.8Flarion
Platform and instance portability 10%3.24.2Flarion
Cost model transparency 5%3.02.0DataPelago
Published evidence 15%3.01.8DataPelago
Maturity and community 10%2.62.0DataPelago
ETL fit score3.143.15Flarion
Why each score
Adoption effort
DataPelago (3.8): DataPelago states existing Spark code runs unchanged with no data migration, configured through standard Spark settings and bought through the Google Cloud or AWS marketplace.
Flarion (4.2): Flarion states "zero code and infrastructure changes" and a 6-minute setup by adding configuration parameters.
Stage coverage
DataPelago (3.0): Its page names good fits (compute-intensive jobs, Parquet, ORC, SQL and DataFrame) and says to avoid heavy RDD and UDF use; shuffle, spill and write behavior are not described.
Flarion (2.8): Describes a DataFusion-based, Arrow-native execution engine plus caching; shuffle, spill and write behavior are not described on the pages we reviewed.
Tuning and operating burden
DataPelago (3.0): A vendor-run accelerator configured with standard Spark settings; tuning guidance and support terms are not published on the pages we reviewed.
Flarion (3.8): A commercial product with performance monitoring and anomaly detection described; support terms are not published.
Platform and instance portability
DataPelago (3.2): Supports multiple Spark versions on Google Cloud and AWS and any hardware from CPU to GPU, by the vendor's statement; specific managed services such as Amazon EMR, Dataproc or Databricks are not named.
Flarion (4.2): Lists Databricks, AWS EMR, GCP Dataproc, Azure HDInsight, Spark on Kubernetes and on-premises, on standard instances.
Cost model transparency
DataPelago (3.0): Pay as you go through cloud marketplaces; the AWS Marketplace listing shows a vCPU-hour dimension and a $100,000 per month contract entry, but no per-job rate you can model without a quote.
Flarion (2.0): Listed on AWS Marketplace; no price on the homepage.
Published evidence
DataPelago (3.0): Vendor claims of 10x faster at 80% cost reduction, customer quotes with figures (Akad Seguros, ShareChat) and a benchmark page against NVIDIA cuDF, all vendor-published.
Flarion (1.8): Headline figures (3x performance, 60% cost reduction) without a published methodology on the pages we reviewed.
Maturity and community
DataPelago (2.6): The Accelerator for Spark launched on 5 August 2025, on the Nucleus engine unveiled in October 2024; offices in Mountain View and Hyderabad; no open-source community of its own.
Flarion (2.0): Company details such as founding date and funding are not published on the pages we reviewed.

What do DataPelago and Flarion cost, as published?

 DataPelagoFlarion
LicenseCommercialCommercial
Published pricePay as you go through the Google Cloud and AWS marketplaces; the AWS Marketplace listing shows a vCPU-hour dimension and a $100,000 per month one-month contract entryUsage-based, per CPU-hour: $0.004 self-hosted cloud, $0.007 on managed Spark (EMR, GCP Managed Spark, Azure HDInsight), $0.008 on Databricks; on-premise $0.50 per CPU-month.
InstancesAny available hardware, CPU to GPU (vendor statement)Standard instances
Runs onMultiple Spark versions on Google Cloud and AWS; Amazon EMR, EKS and Databricks not named on the DPA-S pageDatabricks, AWS EMR, GCP Dataproc, Azure HDInsight, Spark on Kubernetes, on-premises
Code changesNone stated; standard Spark settingsNone stated; configuration parameters

Prices and terms as published on the pages we reviewed, 27 September 2026. Neither vendor's figure is a quote.

Sources: datapelago.ai, DPA-S page, DataPelago press page, DataPelago company page, AWS Marketplace listing, flarion.io, Flarion pricing · Fetched 27 Sep 2026

Where are they documented to run?

 EMRDatabricksGoogle Cloud (Dataproc)AWS GlueSelf-managed Spark / Kubernetes
DataPelagoNot documentedAWS stated; EMR not namedNot documentedNot documentedGoogle Cloud stated; service not namedNot documentedNot documented
FlarionDocumentedDocumentedDocumentedNot documentedDocumentedon-premises

Documented means the vendor or project lists the platform on the pages we reviewed. Self-install means you can usually add an open-source plugin to a platform that lets you set Spark configuration and classpath, but the project does not publish a guide for that platform. None of the vendor pages we reviewed list AWS Glue.

Which job stages does each address?

Spark ETL job stages and which stages each accelerator documents addressingA waterfall of five Spark ETL job stages (read, transform, shuffle, spill, write) with illustrative proportions, and below it a grid showing, for each accelerator, whether its own documentation says it addresses that stage.Anatomy of a Spark ETL jobRead: scan and decode filesTransform: filter, join, aggregateShuffle: write and fetch between stagesSpill: memory pressure pushes data to diskWrite: encode and commit outputIllustrative proportions, not measured data. Your own split comes from the Spark UI: see Profile a slow Spark job.
Stage coverage by accelerator, from vendor documentation
AcceleratorReadTransformShuffleSpillWrite
FlarionPartialPartialDocumentedDocumentedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot stated
DataPelagoDocumentedDocumentedPartialPartialNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot stated
  • DocumentedDocumented: the vendor's own documentation says it addresses this stage
  • PartialPartial: indirect or experimental, or covered only by an end-to-end claim
  • Not statedNot stated: not found on the pages we reviewed

This shows what each vendor says, not what we measured. Sources are listed on each review.

Choose DataPelago if

  • Low adoption effort on your current platform matters most
  • You need to run on several platforms or standard instances

Choose Flarion if

  • You want a commercial plugin that Flarion states needs zero code and infrastructure changes
  • You need one commercial product across Databricks, Amazon EMR, Google Cloud Dataproc, Azure HDInsight and on-premises
  • You run on Amazon EMR, Databricks, Google Cloud (Dataproc) and self-managed Spark or Kubernetes

Frequently asked questions

Which has the higher ETL fit score, DataPelago or Flarion?

Flarion, with 3.15 against 3.14 out of 5 on our lead weights. DataPelago scores higher on stage coverage, cost model transparency, published evidence and maturity and community and Flarion on adoption effort, tuning and operating burden and platform and instance portability. The score measures fit for speeding up existing Spark ETL, not raw speed.

Do DataPelago and Flarion run on the same platforms?

They share no documented platform on the pages we reviewed. Flarion is also documented for Amazon EMR, Databricks, Google Cloud (Dataproc) and self-managed Spark or Kubernetes.

What do DataPelago and Flarion cost?

DataPelago: Pay as you go through the Google Cloud and AWS marketplaces; the AWS Marketplace listing shows a vCPU-hour dimension and a $100,000 per month one-month contract entry (Commercial). Flarion: Usage-based, per CPU-hour: $0.004 self-hosted cloud, $0.007 on managed Spark (EMR, GCP Managed Spark, Azure HDInsight), $0.008 on Databricks; on-premise $0.50 per CPU-month. (Commercial). For a like-for-like comparison, work out cost per run on one of your own jobs: see Spark cost per job, explained.

Related