ETL CompareETL Compare

Head to head · Figures checked September 2026

Flarion vs Databricks Photon

ETL Compare staff · Figures checked September 2026 · Sourced from vendor docs, project pages and public benchmarks · Published 29 September 2026

In brief

Databricks Photon has the higher ETL fit score on our published weights (3.4 against 3.1 out of 5). Flarion scores higher on adoption effort and platform and instance portability; Databricks Photon scores higher on stage coverage, tuning and operating burden, cost model transparency, published evidence and maturity and community. Photon only runs inside Databricks, so for most teams the platform they use decides this comparison before the scores do.

On our weights Databricks Photon ranks 6th of 7 and Flarion ranks 7th of 7. Which one fits depends on the criteria below and on the platform you run.

Flarion is a commercial DataFusion-based, Arrow-native execution engine for Spark, Hadoop and Ray. Databricks Photon is a Databricks-native vectorized C++ query engine inside the Databricks Runtime. Neither requires changes to Spark SQL or DataFrame code, according to its own documentation.

Flarion

3.1 / 5

ETL fit score (editorial assessment, 0-5)

ETL fit score (editorial assessment, 0-5)

Rank 7 of 7

Commercial plugin with a broad managed-platform list

Databricks Photon

3.4 / 5

ETL fit score (editorial assessment, 0-5)

ETL fit score (editorial assessment, 0-5)

Rank 6 of 7

Best for teams already on Databricks

How do Flarion and Databricks Photon score on each criterion?

Flarion and Databricks Photon by criterion. Scores are editorial, 0-5.
CriterionFlarionPhotonHigher score
Adoption effort 20%4.22.6Flarion
Stage coverage 20%2.83.8Photon
Tuning and operating burden 15%3.84.6Photon
Platform and instance portability 10%4.21.6Flarion
Cost model transparency 10%2.03.2Photon
Published evidence 15%1.83.2Photon
Maturity and community 10%2.04.6Photon
ETL fit score3.13.4Photon
Why each score
Adoption effort
Flarion (4.2): Flarion states "zero code and infrastructure changes" and a 6-minute setup by adding configuration parameters.
Photon (2.6): One checkbox (or on by default on serverless) with no code changes if you already run on Databricks; for a team on EMR or self-managed Spark it means moving to Databricks first.
Stage coverage
Flarion (2.8): Describes a DataFusion-based, Arrow-native execution engine plus caching; shuffle, spill and write behavior are not described on the pages we reviewed.
Photon (3.8): Documents native scans (Parquet, Delta, CSV, JSON), filters, joins, aggregates, windows and writes, with fallback to the Spark runtime; no UDF, RDD or stateful streaming support.
Tuning and operating burden
Flarion (3.8): A commercial product with performance monitoring and anomaly detection described; support terms are not published.
Photon (4.6): Managed by Databricks inside its runtime, so there is no plugin for your team to install or version.
Platform and instance portability
Flarion (4.2): Lists Databricks, AWS EMR, GCP Dataproc, Azure HDInsight and on-premises, on standard instances.
Photon (1.6): Available only inside Databricks (on AWS, Azure and Google Cloud).
Cost model transparency
Flarion (2.0): Listed on AWS Marketplace; no price on the homepage.
Photon (3.2): Databricks publishes DBU rates, but Photon compute consumes DBUs at different rates, so the net effect has to be modelled per job.
Published evidence
Flarion (1.8): Headline figures (3x performance, 60% cost reduction) without a published methodology on the pages we reviewed.
Photon (3.2): Databricks documents where Photon does not help (queries under two seconds, UDFs); performance comparisons outside Databricks are not possible because it only runs there.
Maturity and community
Flarion (2.0): Company details such as founding date and funding are not published on the pages we reviewed.
Photon (4.6): The default engine on Databricks serverless and SQL warehouses, backed by Databricks.

What do Flarion and Databricks Photon cost, as published?

 FlarionPhoton
LicenseCommercialCommercial (part of Databricks)
Published priceNot on homepage; listed on AWS MarketplaceDatabricks DBU pricing; Photon changes DBU consumption
InstancesStandard instancesSupported Databricks instance types, including Graviton
Runs onDatabricks, AWS EMR, GCP Dataproc, Azure HDInsight, on-premisesDatabricks only (AWS, Azure, Google Cloud)
Code changesNone stated; configuration parametersNone on Databricks; platform move otherwise

Prices and terms as published on the pages we reviewed, 27 September 2026. Neither vendor's figure is a quote.

Sources: flarion.io, Photon documentation · Fetched 27 Sep 2026

Where are they documented to run?

 EMRDatabricksGoogle Cloud (Dataproc)AWS GlueSelf-managed Spark / Kubernetes
FlarionDocumentedDocumentedDocumentedNot documentedDocumentedon-premises
PhotonNot availableOnly platformNot availableNot availableNot available

Documented means the vendor or project lists the platform on the pages we reviewed. Self-install means you can usually add an open-source plugin to a platform that lets you set Spark configuration and classpath, but the project does not publish a guide for that platform. None of the vendor pages we reviewed list AWS Glue.

Which job stages does each address?

Spark ETL job stages and which stages each accelerator documents addressingA waterfall of five Spark ETL job stages (read, transform, shuffle, spill, write) with illustrative proportions, and below it a grid showing, for each accelerator, whether its own documentation says it addresses that stage.Anatomy of a Spark ETL jobRead: scan and decode filesTransform: filter, join, aggregateShuffle: write and fetch between stagesSpill: memory pressure pushes data to diskWrite: encode and commit outputIllustrative proportions, not measured data. Your own split comes from the Spark UI: see Profile a slow Spark job.
Stage coverage by accelerator, from vendor documentation
AcceleratorReadTransformShuffleSpillWrite
PhotonDocumentedDocumentedDocumentedDocumentedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedDocumentedDocumented
FlarionPartialPartialDocumentedDocumentedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot stated
  • DocumentedDocumented: the vendor's own documentation says it addresses this stage
  • PartialPartial: indirect or experimental, or covered only by an end-to-end claim
  • Not statedNot stated: not found on the pages we reviewed

This shows what each vendor says, not what we measured. Sources are listed on each review.

Choose Flarion if

  • You want a commercial plugin that Flarion states needs zero code and infrastructure changes
  • You need one commercial product across Databricks, Amazon EMR, Google Cloud Dataproc, Azure HDInsight and on-premises
  • You run on Amazon EMR, Databricks, Google Cloud (Dataproc) and self-managed Spark or Kubernetes

Choose Databricks Photon if

  • Your jobs already run on Databricks and you want no plugin to install or version
  • You want the engine that is the default on Databricks serverless and SQL warehouses
  • You run on Databricks

Frequently asked questions

Which has the higher ETL fit score, Flarion or Databricks Photon?

Databricks Photon, with 3.4 against 3.1 out of 5 on our published weights. Flarion scores higher on adoption effort and platform and instance portability and Databricks Photon on stage coverage, tuning and operating burden, cost model transparency, published evidence and maturity and community. The score measures fit for speeding up existing Spark ETL, not raw speed.

Do Flarion and Databricks Photon run on the same platforms?

Both are documented for Databricks. Flarion is also documented for Amazon EMR, Google Cloud (Dataproc) and self-managed Spark or Kubernetes.

What do Flarion and Databricks Photon cost?

Flarion: Not on homepage; listed on AWS Marketplace (Commercial). Databricks Photon: Databricks DBU pricing; Photon changes DBU consumption (Commercial (part of Databricks)). For a like-for-like comparison, work out cost per run on one of your own jobs: see Spark cost per job, explained.

Related