ETL CompareETL Compare

Head to head · Figures checked September 2026

Flarion vs RAPIDS Accelerator

ETL Compare staff · Figures checked September 2026 · Sourced from vendor docs, project pages and public benchmarks · Published 29 September 2026

In brief

RAPIDS Accelerator has the higher ETL fit score on our published weights (3.7 against 3.1 out of 5). Flarion scores higher on adoption effort, tuning and operating burden and platform and instance portability; RAPIDS Accelerator scores higher on stage coverage, cost model transparency, published evidence and maturity and community. The score measures fit for speeding up existing Spark ETL without rewrites, not raw speed, so test both on one of your own pipelines before you decide.

On our weights RAPIDS Accelerator ranks 3rd of 7 and Flarion ranks 7th of 7. Which one fits depends on the criteria below and on the platform you run.

Flarion is a commercial DataFusion-based, Arrow-native execution engine for Spark, Hadoop and Ray. RAPIDS Accelerator for Apache Spark (now NVIDIA cuDF for Apache Spark) is an open-source NVIDIA plugin that runs supported Spark SQL and DataFrame operations on GPUs. Neither requires changes to Spark SQL or DataFrame code, according to its own documentation.

Flarion

3.1 / 5

ETL fit score (editorial assessment, 0-5)

ETL fit score (editorial assessment, 0-5)

Rank 7 of 7

Commercial plugin with a broad managed-platform list

RAPIDS Accelerator

3.7 / 5

ETL fit score (editorial assessment, 0-5)

ETL fit score (editorial assessment, 0-5)

Rank 3 of 7

Best for teams that already run GPU capacity

How do Flarion and RAPIDS Accelerator score on each criterion?

Flarion and RAPIDS Accelerator by criterion. Scores are editorial, 0-5.
CriterionFlarionRAPIDS AcceleratorHigher score
Adoption effort 20%4.23.4Flarion
Stage coverage 20%2.84.2RAPIDS Accelerator
Tuning and operating burden 15%3.83.0Flarion
Platform and instance portability 10%4.23.2Flarion
Cost model transparency 10%2.04.2RAPIDS Accelerator
Published evidence 15%1.83.6RAPIDS Accelerator
Maturity and community 10%2.04.6RAPIDS Accelerator
ETL fit score3.13.7RAPIDS Accelerator
Why each score
Adoption effort
Flarion (4.2): Flarion states "zero code and infrastructure changes" and a 6-minute setup by adding configuration parameters.
RAPIDS Accelerator (3.4): No code changes, but the job has to move to NVIDIA GPU instances and the cluster needs GPU-specific configuration.
Stage coverage
Flarion (2.8): Describes a DataFusion-based, Arrow-native execution engine plus caching; shuffle, spill and write behavior are not described on the pages we reviewed.
RAPIDS Accelerator (4.2): Documents GPU execution for group by, joins, sorts and windows, Parquet and ORC writing, CSV reading and a RAPIDS Shuffle Manager; unsupported operations fall back to CPU.
Tuning and operating burden
Flarion (3.8): A commercial product with performance monitoring and anomaly detection described; support terms are not published.
RAPIDS Accelerator (3.0): Qualification and Profiling tools help, but GPU sizing and plugin configuration are your team's job.
Platform and instance portability
Flarion (4.2): Lists Databricks, AWS EMR, GCP Dataproc, Azure HDInsight and on-premises, on standard instances.
RAPIDS Accelerator (3.2): The widest platform list in this set (EMR, Databricks, Dataproc, GKE, Azure Synapse, Kubernetes, on-premises, OCI), held back because every one of them needs GPU instances.
Cost model transparency
Flarion (2.0): Listed on AWS Marketplace; no price on the homepage.
RAPIDS Accelerator (4.2): The plugin is Apache 2.0 with no fee; the cost question becomes GPU instance price against runtime saved, which you can model from public cloud prices.
Published evidence
Flarion (1.8): Headline figures (3x performance, 60% cost reduction) without a published methodology on the pages we reviewed.
RAPIDS Accelerator (3.6): The Qualification Tool estimates fit from your own event logs; headline benchmark figures were not reviewed for this edition.
Maturity and community
Flarion (2.0): Company details such as founding date and funding are not published on the pages we reviewed.
RAPIDS Accelerator (4.6): A long-running NVIDIA project with more than 9,000 commits on main, now published as NVIDIA cuDF for Apache Spark.

What do Flarion and RAPIDS Accelerator cost, as published?

 FlarionRAPIDS Accelerator
LicenseCommercialApache License 2.0
Published priceNot on homepage; listed on AWS MarketplaceNo plugin fee; GPU instance pricing applies
InstancesStandard instancesNVIDIA GPU instances (Volta or later)
Runs onDatabricks, AWS EMR, GCP Dataproc, Azure HDInsight, on-premisesAmazon EMR, Databricks, Dataproc, GKE, Azure Synapse, Kubernetes, on-premises, OCI
Code changesNone stated; configuration parametersNone; plugin replaces internal physical plan parts

Prices and terms as published on the pages we reviewed, 27 September 2026. Neither vendor's figure is a quote.

Sources: flarion.io, spark-rapids overview, RAPIDS Accelerator user guide, RAPIDS Accelerator FAQ, NVIDIA/spark-rapids on GitHub · Fetched 27 Sep 2026

Where are they documented to run?

 EMRDatabricksGoogle Cloud (Dataproc)AWS GlueSelf-managed Spark / Kubernetes
FlarionDocumentedDocumentedDocumentedNot documentedDocumentedon-premises
RAPIDS AcceleratorDocumentedDocumentedDocumentedNot documentedDocumented

Documented means the vendor or project lists the platform on the pages we reviewed. Self-install means you can usually add an open-source plugin to a platform that lets you set Spark configuration and classpath, but the project does not publish a guide for that platform. None of the vendor pages we reviewed list AWS Glue.

Which job stages does each address?

Spark ETL job stages and which stages each accelerator documents addressingA waterfall of five Spark ETL job stages (read, transform, shuffle, spill, write) with illustrative proportions, and below it a grid showing, for each accelerator, whether its own documentation says it addresses that stage.Anatomy of a Spark ETL jobRead: scan and decode filesTransform: filter, join, aggregateShuffle: write and fetch between stagesSpill: memory pressure pushes data to diskWrite: encode and commit outputIllustrative proportions, not measured data. Your own split comes from the Spark UI: see Profile a slow Spark job.
Stage coverage by accelerator, from vendor documentation
AcceleratorReadTransformShuffleSpillWrite
RAPIDS AcceleratorDocumentedDocumentedDocumentedDocumentedDocumentedDocumentedNot statedNot statedDocumentedDocumented
FlarionPartialPartialDocumentedDocumentedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot stated
  • DocumentedDocumented: the vendor's own documentation says it addresses this stage
  • PartialPartial: indirect or experimental, or covered only by an end-to-end claim
  • Not statedNot stated: not found on the pages we reviewed

This shows what each vendor says, not what we measured. Sources are listed on each review.

Choose Flarion if

  • You want a commercial plugin that Flarion states needs zero code and infrastructure changes
  • You need one commercial product across Databricks, Amazon EMR, Google Cloud Dataproc, Azure HDInsight and on-premises
  • You run on Amazon EMR, Databricks, Google Cloud (Dataproc) and self-managed Spark or Kubernetes

Choose RAPIDS Accelerator if

  • You want a long-running project with more than 9,000 commits on main
  • You want GPU execution documented for joins, sorts, aggregations, window functions, Parquet and ORC writing and shuffle
  • You run on Amazon EMR, Databricks, Google Cloud (Dataproc) and self-managed Spark or Kubernetes

Frequently asked questions

Which has the higher ETL fit score, Flarion or RAPIDS Accelerator?

RAPIDS Accelerator, with 3.7 against 3.1 out of 5 on our published weights. Flarion scores higher on adoption effort, tuning and operating burden and platform and instance portability and RAPIDS Accelerator on stage coverage, cost model transparency, published evidence and maturity and community. The score measures fit for speeding up existing Spark ETL, not raw speed.

Do Flarion and RAPIDS Accelerator run on the same platforms?

Both are documented for Amazon EMR, Databricks, Google Cloud (Dataproc) and self-managed Spark or Kubernetes.

What do Flarion and RAPIDS Accelerator cost?

Flarion: Not on homepage; listed on AWS Marketplace (Commercial). RAPIDS Accelerator: No plugin fee; GPU instance pricing applies (Apache License 2.0). For a like-for-like comparison, work out cost per run on one of your own jobs: see Spark cost per job, explained.

Related