ETL CompareETL Compare

Head to head · Figures checked September 2026

Flarion vs Speedata

ETL Compare staff · Figures checked September 2026 · Sourced from vendor docs, project pages and public benchmarks · Published 29 September 2026

In brief

Flarion has the higher ETL fit score on our lead weights (3.15 against 2.61 out of 5). Flarion scores higher on adoption effort, stage coverage, tuning and operating burden and platform and instance portability; Speedata scores higher on published evidence and maturity and community. They tie on cost model transparency. The score measures fit for speeding up existing Spark ETL without rewrites, not raw speed, so test both on one of your own pipelines before you decide.

On our lead weights Flarion ranks 7th of 9 and Speedata ranks 9th of 9. Which one fits depends on the criteria below and on the platform you run.

Flarion is a commercial DataFusion-based, Arrow-native execution engine for Spark, Hadoop and Ray. Speedata is a Custom analytics silicon: the C200 Analytics Processing Unit (APU) card plus Dash, a Spark plugin that hooks the Catalyst optimizer. Neither requires changes to Spark SQL or DataFrame code, according to its own documentation.

Flarion

3.15 / 5

ETL fit score (editorial assessment, 0-5)

ETL fit score (editorial assessment, 0-5)

Rank 7 of 9

Commercial plugin with a broad managed-platform list

Speedata

2.61 / 5

ETL fit score (editorial assessment, 0-5)

ETL fit score (editorial assessment, 0-5)

Rank 9 of 9

Teams that can add dedicated analytics hardware on premises

How do Flarion and Speedata score on each criterion?

Flarion and Speedata by criterion. Scores are editorial, 0-5.
CriterionFlarionSpeedataHigher score
Adoption effort 20%4.22.6Flarion
Stage coverage 20%2.82.6Flarion
Tuning and operating burden 20%3.83.0Flarion
Platform and instance portability 10%4.21.6Flarion
Cost model transparency 5%2.02.0Tie
Published evidence 15%1.83.0Speedata
Maturity and community 10%2.02.6Speedata
ETL fit score3.152.61Flarion
Why each score
Adoption effort
Flarion (4.2): Flarion states "zero code and infrastructure changes" and a 6-minute setup by adding configuration parameters.
Speedata (2.6): Speedata states Dash drops into existing Spark environments with zero code changes, but the job has to move onto servers fitted with Speedata APU cards, bought pre-configured or through OEM partners such as HPE.
Stage coverage
Flarion (2.8): Describes a DataFusion-based, Arrow-native execution engine plus caching; shuffle, spill and write behavior are not described on the pages we reviewed.
Speedata (2.6): The product page says Dash offloads compute-intensive work and that non-accelerable elements such as UDFs fall back to CPU; no operator list and no shuffle, spill or write detail are published.
Tuning and operating burden
Flarion (3.8): A commercial product with performance monitoring and anomaly detection described; support terms are not published.
Speedata (3.0): A vendor product with a Workload Analyzer that reads your Spark logs; you run dedicated hardware in your own data center, and support terms are not published.
Platform and instance portability
Flarion (4.2): Lists Databricks, AWS EMR, GCP Dataproc, Azure HDInsight, Spark on Kubernetes and on-premises, on standard instances.
Speedata (1.6): Documented for on-premises servers with C200 cards, plus a February 2026 sovereign-cloud partnership with Nebul; Amazon EMR, EKS, Databricks and Kubernetes are not mentioned on the product page.
Cost model transparency
Flarion (2.0): Listed on AWS Marketplace; no price on the homepage.
Speedata (2.0): No pricing page and no public price for the software or the APU servers; buyers need a demo and a quote.
Published evidence
Flarion (1.8): Headline figures (3x performance, 60% cost reduction) without a published methodology on the pages we reviewed.
Speedata (3.0): Vendor figures include 62.7x on production Spark workloads and 37 servers consolidated to 3; the site also cites a SIGMOD 2026 Best Paper whose Microsoft CoddSpeed benchmark features the APU. Setup detail for the vendor figures is not published.
Maturity and community
Flarion (2.0): Company details such as founding date and funding are not published on the pages we reviewed.
Speedata (2.6): A commercial hardware vendor with Israeli founders; TechCrunch reported a $44M Series B in June 2025 (secondary source). Founding year is not stated and there is no open-source community.

What do Flarion and Speedata cost, as published?

 FlarionSpeedata
LicenseCommercialCommercial
Published priceUsage-based, per CPU-hour: $0.004 self-hosted cloud, $0.007 on managed Spark (EMR, GCP Managed Spark, Azure HDInsight), $0.008 on Databricks; on-premise $0.50 per CPU-month.Not published; book a demo
InstancesStandard instancesServers fitted with Speedata C200 APU cards
Runs onDatabricks, AWS EMR, GCP Dataproc, Azure HDInsight, Spark on Kubernetes, on-premisesSpeedata APU servers in your data center (pre-configured 2U server or OEM servers such as HPE); Amazon EMR, EKS and Databricks not mentioned on the product page
Code changesNone stated; configuration parametersNone stated; Dash Spark plugin (spark.plugins)

Prices and terms as published on the pages we reviewed, 27 September 2026. Neither vendor's figure is a quote.

Sources: flarion.io, Flarion pricing, speedata.io, Speedata product page, Speedata news, Speedata company page · Fetched 27 Sep 2026

Where are they documented to run?

 EMRDatabricksGoogle Cloud (Dataproc)AWS GlueSelf-managed Spark / Kubernetes
FlarionDocumentedDocumentedDocumentedNot documentedDocumentedon-premises
SpeedataNot documentedNot documentedNot documentedNot documentedDocumentedon Speedata APU servers, on premises

Documented means the vendor or project lists the platform on the pages we reviewed. Self-install means you can usually add an open-source plugin to a platform that lets you set Spark configuration and classpath, but the project does not publish a guide for that platform. None of the vendor pages we reviewed list AWS Glue.

Which job stages does each address?

Spark ETL job stages and which stages each accelerator documents addressingA waterfall of five Spark ETL job stages (read, transform, shuffle, spill, write) with illustrative proportions, and below it a grid showing, for each accelerator, whether its own documentation says it addresses that stage.Anatomy of a Spark ETL jobRead: scan and decode filesTransform: filter, join, aggregateShuffle: write and fetch between stagesSpill: memory pressure pushes data to diskWrite: encode and commit outputIllustrative proportions, not measured data. Your own split comes from the Spark UI: see Profile a slow Spark job.
Stage coverage by accelerator, from vendor documentation
AcceleratorReadTransformShuffleSpillWrite
FlarionPartialPartialDocumentedDocumentedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot stated
SpeedataPartialPartialPartialPartialNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot stated
  • DocumentedDocumented: the vendor's own documentation says it addresses this stage
  • PartialPartial: indirect or experimental, or covered only by an end-to-end claim
  • Not statedNot stated: not found on the pages we reviewed

This shows what each vendor says, not what we measured. Sources are listed on each review.

Choose Flarion if

  • You want a commercial plugin that Flarion states needs zero code and infrastructure changes
  • You need one commercial product across Databricks, Amazon EMR, Google Cloud Dataproc, Azure HDInsight and on-premises
  • You run on Amazon EMR, Databricks, Google Cloud (Dataproc) and self-managed Spark or Kubernetes

Choose Speedata if

  • You want the least tuning and operating work for your team
  • You want published, reproducible evidence
  • You run on self-managed Spark or Kubernetes

Frequently asked questions

Which has the higher ETL fit score, Flarion or Speedata?

Flarion, with 3.15 against 2.61 out of 5 on our lead weights. Flarion scores higher on adoption effort, stage coverage, tuning and operating burden and platform and instance portability and Speedata on published evidence and maturity and community. They tie on cost model transparency. The score measures fit for speeding up existing Spark ETL, not raw speed.

Do Flarion and Speedata run on the same platforms?

Both are documented for self-managed Spark or Kubernetes. Flarion is also documented for Amazon EMR, Databricks and Google Cloud (Dataproc).

What do Flarion and Speedata cost?

Flarion: Usage-based, per CPU-hour: $0.004 self-hosted cloud, $0.007 on managed Spark (EMR, GCP Managed Spark, Azure HDInsight), $0.008 on Databricks; on-premise $0.50 per CPU-month. (Commercial). Speedata: Not published; book a demo (Commercial). For a like-for-like comparison, work out cost per run on one of your own jobs: see Spark cost per job, explained.

Related