ETL CompareETL Compare

Head to head · Figures checked September 2026

RAPIDS Accelerator vs Speedata

ETL Compare staff · Figures checked September 2026 · Sourced from vendor docs, project pages and public benchmarks · Published 29 September 2026

In brief

RAPIDS Accelerator has the higher ETL fit score on our lead weights (3.65 against 2.61 out of 5). RAPIDS Accelerator scores higher on adoption effort, stage coverage, platform and instance portability, cost model transparency, published evidence and maturity and community, and Speedata does not score higher on any criterion. They tie on tuning and operating burden. The score measures fit for speeding up existing Spark ETL without rewrites, not raw speed, so test both on one of your own pipelines before you decide.

On our lead weights RAPIDS Accelerator ranks 4th of 9 and Speedata ranks 9th of 9. Which one fits depends on the criteria below and on the platform you run.

RAPIDS Accelerator for Apache Spark (now NVIDIA cuDF for Apache Spark) is an open-source NVIDIA plugin that runs supported Spark SQL and DataFrame operations on GPUs. Speedata is a Custom analytics silicon: the C200 Analytics Processing Unit (APU) card plus Dash, a Spark plugin that hooks the Catalyst optimizer. Neither requires changes to Spark SQL or DataFrame code, according to its own documentation.

RAPIDS Accelerator

3.65 / 5

ETL fit score (editorial assessment, 0-5)

ETL fit score (editorial assessment, 0-5)

Rank 4 of 9

Best for teams that already run GPU capacity

Speedata

2.61 / 5

ETL fit score (editorial assessment, 0-5)

ETL fit score (editorial assessment, 0-5)

Rank 9 of 9

Teams that can add dedicated analytics hardware on premises

How do RAPIDS Accelerator and Speedata score on each criterion?

RAPIDS Accelerator and Speedata by criterion. Scores are editorial, 0-5.
CriterionRAPIDS AcceleratorSpeedataHigher score
Adoption effort 20%3.42.6RAPIDS Accelerator
Stage coverage 20%4.22.6RAPIDS Accelerator
Tuning and operating burden 20%3.03.0Tie
Platform and instance portability 10%3.21.6RAPIDS Accelerator
Cost model transparency 5%4.22.0RAPIDS Accelerator
Published evidence 15%3.63.0RAPIDS Accelerator
Maturity and community 10%4.62.6RAPIDS Accelerator
ETL fit score3.652.61RAPIDS Accelerator
Why each score
Adoption effort
RAPIDS Accelerator (3.4): No code changes, but the job has to move to NVIDIA GPU instances and the cluster needs GPU-specific configuration.
Speedata (2.6): Speedata states Dash drops into existing Spark environments with zero code changes, but the job has to move onto servers fitted with Speedata APU cards, bought pre-configured or through OEM partners such as HPE.
Stage coverage
RAPIDS Accelerator (4.2): Documents GPU execution for group by, joins, sorts and windows, Parquet and ORC writing, CSV reading and a RAPIDS Shuffle Manager; unsupported operations fall back to CPU.
Speedata (2.6): The product page says Dash offloads compute-intensive work and that non-accelerable elements such as UDFs fall back to CPU; no operator list and no shuffle, spill or write detail are published.
Tuning and operating burden
RAPIDS Accelerator (3.0): Qualification and Profiling tools help, but GPU sizing and plugin configuration are your team's job.
Speedata (3.0): A vendor product with a Workload Analyzer that reads your Spark logs; you run dedicated hardware in your own data center, and support terms are not published.
Platform and instance portability
RAPIDS Accelerator (3.2): The widest platform list in this set (EMR, Databricks, Dataproc, GKE, Azure Synapse, Kubernetes, on-premises, OCI), held back because every one of them needs GPU instances.
Speedata (1.6): Documented for on-premises servers with C200 cards, plus a February 2026 sovereign-cloud partnership with Nebul; Amazon EMR, EKS, Databricks and Kubernetes are not mentioned on the product page.
Cost model transparency
RAPIDS Accelerator (4.2): The plugin is Apache 2.0 with no fee; the cost question becomes GPU instance price against runtime saved, which you can model from public cloud prices.
Speedata (2.0): No pricing page and no public price for the software or the APU servers; buyers need a demo and a quote.
Published evidence
RAPIDS Accelerator (3.6): The Qualification Tool estimates fit from your own event logs; headline benchmark figures were not reviewed for this edition.
Speedata (3.0): Vendor figures include 62.7x on production Spark workloads and 37 servers consolidated to 3; the site also cites a SIGMOD 2026 Best Paper whose Microsoft CoddSpeed benchmark features the APU. Setup detail for the vendor figures is not published.
Maturity and community
RAPIDS Accelerator (4.6): A long-running NVIDIA project with more than 9,000 commits on main, now published as NVIDIA cuDF for Apache Spark.
Speedata (2.6): A commercial hardware vendor with Israeli founders; TechCrunch reported a $44M Series B in June 2025 (secondary source). Founding year is not stated and there is no open-source community.

What do RAPIDS Accelerator and Speedata cost, as published?

 RAPIDS AcceleratorSpeedata
LicenseApache License 2.0Commercial
Published priceNo plugin fee; GPU instance pricing appliesNot published; book a demo
InstancesNVIDIA GPU instances (Volta or later)Servers fitted with Speedata C200 APU cards
Runs onAmazon EMR, Databricks, Dataproc, GKE, Azure Synapse, Kubernetes, on-premises, OCISpeedata APU servers in your data center (pre-configured 2U server or OEM servers such as HPE); Amazon EMR, EKS and Databricks not mentioned on the product page
Code changesNone; plugin replaces internal physical plan partsNone stated; Dash Spark plugin (spark.plugins)

Prices and terms as published on the pages we reviewed, 27 September 2026. Neither vendor's figure is a quote.

Sources: spark-rapids overview, RAPIDS Accelerator user guide, RAPIDS Accelerator FAQ, NVIDIA/spark-rapids on GitHub, speedata.io, Speedata product page, Speedata news, Speedata company page · Fetched 27 Sep 2026

Where are they documented to run?

 EMRDatabricksGoogle Cloud (Dataproc)AWS GlueSelf-managed Spark / Kubernetes
RAPIDS AcceleratorDocumentedDocumentedDocumentedNot documentedDocumented
SpeedataNot documentedNot documentedNot documentedNot documentedDocumentedon Speedata APU servers, on premises

Documented means the vendor or project lists the platform on the pages we reviewed. Self-install means you can usually add an open-source plugin to a platform that lets you set Spark configuration and classpath, but the project does not publish a guide for that platform. None of the vendor pages we reviewed list AWS Glue.

Which job stages does each address?

Spark ETL job stages and which stages each accelerator documents addressingA waterfall of five Spark ETL job stages (read, transform, shuffle, spill, write) with illustrative proportions, and below it a grid showing, for each accelerator, whether its own documentation says it addresses that stage.Anatomy of a Spark ETL jobRead: scan and decode filesTransform: filter, join, aggregateShuffle: write and fetch between stagesSpill: memory pressure pushes data to diskWrite: encode and commit outputIllustrative proportions, not measured data. Your own split comes from the Spark UI: see Profile a slow Spark job.
Stage coverage by accelerator, from vendor documentation
AcceleratorReadTransformShuffleSpillWrite
RAPIDS AcceleratorDocumentedDocumentedDocumentedDocumentedDocumentedDocumentedNot statedNot statedDocumentedDocumented
SpeedataPartialPartialPartialPartialNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot stated
  • DocumentedDocumented: the vendor's own documentation says it addresses this stage
  • PartialPartial: indirect or experimental, or covered only by an end-to-end claim
  • Not statedNot stated: not found on the pages we reviewed

This shows what each vendor says, not what we measured. Sources are listed on each review.

Choose RAPIDS Accelerator if

  • You want a long-running project with more than 9,000 commits on main
  • You want GPU execution documented for joins, sorts, aggregations, window functions, Parquet and ORC writing and shuffle
  • You run on Amazon EMR, Databricks, Google Cloud (Dataproc) and self-managed Spark or Kubernetes

Choose Speedata if

  • You want the least tuning and operating work for your team
  • You want published, reproducible evidence
  • You run on self-managed Spark or Kubernetes

Frequently asked questions

Which has the higher ETL fit score, RAPIDS Accelerator or Speedata?

RAPIDS Accelerator, with 3.65 against 2.61 out of 5 on our lead weights. RAPIDS Accelerator scores higher on adoption effort, stage coverage, platform and instance portability, cost model transparency, published evidence and maturity and community, and Speedata does not score higher on any criterion. They tie on tuning and operating burden. The score measures fit for speeding up existing Spark ETL, not raw speed.

Do RAPIDS Accelerator and Speedata run on the same platforms?

Both are documented for self-managed Spark or Kubernetes. RAPIDS Accelerator is also documented for Amazon EMR, Databricks and Google Cloud (Dataproc).

What do RAPIDS Accelerator and Speedata cost?

RAPIDS Accelerator: No plugin fee; GPU instance pricing applies (Apache License 2.0). Speedata: Not published; book a demo (Commercial). For a like-for-like comparison, work out cost per run on one of your own jobs: see Spark cost per job, explained.

Related